Re: Byron Katie (the Work) and Eckhart Tolle Legit??
Posted by: Jay Cruise ()
Date: April 09, 2009 12:14PM

The Anticult
But, she uses detached, depersonalized language like...the body did _____...the body is hungry....the body was raped....(can others help with examples of those detached language patterns?).

There is certain language for detachment but I think BK deals heavily with detachment in philosophy on every aspect of life.

There is "story" which replaces identity. I am an accountant, married with three children is all part of the "story". These fragments of the past, as J Krishnamurti would say, are not reality.

"The reality is that without a story you're genderless - not male, not female, not even human. You're not anything. It is not anything, it's more than that. It's all inclusive; it doesn't even question. There are no questions in the void; there is only the experience of it. And not even that." [integral-options.blogspot.com]

There is detachment from reality itself. Refering to 'what is' is all that exists when you take away your story or identity. Shit doesn't smell if you don't have the story that it smells. A cancerous tumor doesn't exist until you believe you have it, and when you forget you have it the tumor no longer exists (Byron would make more money as an oncologist). You create your own reality.

And of course Byron refers to herself as 'it' treating her identity as a thing. Detachment from identity. There is no difference between yourself and a matchstick, a ride in an elevator, or the color blue. I am you. I am the Nazi throwing the baby in the fire. I am what I am seeking. I am what I am doing. I am what you think of me. I am the reflection in the mirror.

I have seen BK people refer to their age as "I have lived in this body for 20 years" and death as "leaving the body". My body is sick. My body is fat. My body is named Sarah. The marvellous death of the body as we understand it to be is the beginning of this detachment.