Re: Christopher Hansard
Posted by: autumn ()
Date: September 25, 2009 05:25AM

Sparrow and Dorje

The entire CH Tibetan Bagua Zhang rigmarole was quite bizarre and I really wasn’t prepared for the intensity of whole setup. I did not know what to expect when I started training – this was in early 1990. CH told me his story - the account everyone knows - that he had been chosen on a beach in NZ by a Tibetan teacher who had passed on his teachings to him. He explained that the art was from Tibet and it was a distant precursor to the Taoist art popularised by Chinese masters much later.

I have no idea whether the Bagua Zhang CH taught was genuine or not. Naturally when I began training I had no suspicions or misgivings – as far as I was concerned it was a great opportunity. At the outset, the Tibetan ingredients merely gave it added cachet. If his story is true about his Tibetan teacher then it’s possible CH would have learned such a fighting art, had his teacher been adept at the style. It’s only in the context of this debate about CH’s overall authenticity that I stood back to size it all up and look at it from a totally different angle. Hence my comments about the doubts regarding CH’s fighting ability from that Taichi student I mentioned above.

This suggestion of an antediluvian form of Bagua Zhang is of course appealing. Bagua Zhang in itself is clearly very old, as you say, Sparrow. Its system of walking on the circle has shaman overtones; it’s primitive and elemental and its circular shape represents all manner of natural objects, from the sun to the moon to the earth, the orbits of the planets and the suggestion of infinity. You can see how it may also have evolved from a dance – so the concept of contemporary Chinese Bagua Zhang having its roots in Tibet isn’t so wild (even though I can see Chinese martial artists resisting that).