Re: IMPACT Trainings
Posted by: Espiritu ()
Date: November 27, 2008 12:58AM

Former - great points, all around. As a professional therapist myself, it's pretty disturbing to think that this avenue of the LGAT experience would be one's first choice when it comes to overcoming emotional issues. I honestly believe that there's enough information out there about therapy, in general. The bottom line warning for anyone to heed is: YOU SHOULDN'T HAVE TO PAY FOR SOMEONE TO REVEAL SECRET INFORMATION ABOUT YOU. IF YOU HAVE SEVERE EMOTIONAL ISSUES --- GO TO THERAPY!! Family members are biased and typically enmeshed in the dysfunction - so, their recommendations should be taken with a grain of salt.

I also feel that people who have a mental illness or severe emotional problems need to get educated about what treatment is best for them.

That being said, when I attended I was about 23 yrs old. My marriage was tough. I had codependent issues. I came from an alcoholic family. BUT I didn't have a mental illness. I went to Impact at my mom's recommendation. The processes I went through gave me some self-awareness about some anger I had been carrying around and also some worthiness issues. No one pressured me to recruit anyone. My husband never went through it. My sister never went through it. Neither were ostracized or looked down upon. I never really even thought about Impact much until I stumbled upon this thread. Based on what's been said about Impact in this thread...I find my story to be an impossibility. But, it's true.

I suspect that Impact has just gotten stronger and more corrupt over time. Impact and all LGATs should be held to the legal and ethical standards that therapists are - if they are going to be using therapeutic techniques. There should be disclosure on some level and screening (this would require THEM to take responsibility).

One way to end the whole LGAT phenomenon is to decrease demand for it...so many people seeking some kind of answer...etc.