Current Page: 5 of 14
New Song City Central - Tacoma, WA
Posted by: rrmoderator ()
Date: January 22, 2007 12:20PM

GabrielVW says,

I was a part of Newsong for over five years and have been involved in many aspects of the ministry. Currently I am a full time youth pastor at a church in Olympia WA.

He says,

There is a board of elders that meet and the Pastors of the churches fall under their authority.

But is the board of elders elected by the congregation? Who selects the board of elders?

He also says,

As far as an “independently audited financial report.” Honestly, I’ve never asked for one so don’t know. I do know that at the end of each year we received a “giving statement” for tax purposes from the church. And I know that I had met an individual who did accounting for the ministry. Just knowing how open the ministry is with all its information and the work they do with the city, I assume there is such a report available upon request.

However, GabrielVW doesn't know after five years anything more specific than this. That is, if Newsong has a published report that details all salaries and expenses, which has been independently audited.

BrianWA says,

Accountability and preparation for leadership are vital, but those things sound more "American" than "biblical." ...but the model of democratically electing our leaders is not quite the model we see in the scriptures.

Does this mean there are not democratically elected boards at Newsong voted upon by the whole membership of the congregation?

Please be very specific.

BrianWA goes on to say,

We are supposed to submit our culture to scriptural truth, not the other way around. Americans love to insist on their 'space' but that's really not a concept the Apostles taught.

Newsong is beginning to sound just a bit totalitarian.

Options: ReplyQuote
Posted by: GabrielVW ()
Date: January 23, 2007 07:22AM