Current Page: 3 of 14
New Song City Central - Tacoma, WA
Posted by: GabrielVW ()
Date: January 21, 2007 07:51AM

I thought I’d try to add a little to the conversation on Newsong City Central. Mostly though, I would love to be a resource for gathering correct information regarding the ministry. My name is Gabriel and I was a part of Newsong for over five years and have been involved in many aspects of the ministry. Currently I am a full time youth pastor at a church in Olympia WA. I completed the majority of my Maters of theology degree at Fuller Theological Seminary and am currently finishing up my degree at Faith Evangelical Seminary. (I had to transfer due to the distance I am now from Fuller).

It is always difficult to evaluate the biblical foundations of a ministry when you are new to a ministry, have preconceived notions or have a “bad experience” there. My experience in studies and working with churches of many different denominations has given me, I believe, a better understanding of different theologies and how a “quick” look at any theology or denomination will often lead to huge misconceptions. (I currently work with churches that range from hard line conservative Baptist to full Pentecostal and many in between). I also want to note that since I am no longer at Newsong I can not speak on behalf of the church and its leaders- rather I will give my experience and observations in the sections below.