Current Page: 13 of 34
Psychosis after a Tony Robbins Seminar??
Posted by: KimD ()
Date: August 16, 2004 12:28AM

Coz,

Yep, you listed a bunch of the reasons I'm not there. And most of those I learned on this site.

I had thought about going and sitting at the back without credit cards/checkbook, skipping the firewalk, etc. - but other personal reasons surfaced that kept me from attending. I already know and am clear on my values, so no Tony-speak could change my mind.

The misleading 72-hour refund policy on the Mastery stuff sold on Sunday night really bugs me - as do the Coaching Contract and policies. I'm a Life Coach myself, and think it's appalling.

On another note, I've also 'forgiven' myself for not accomplishing as much as 'I thought I should have' after going through Personal Power, Personal Power II and Get the Edge. It's now clear that the promise of success is in fact just a hook to get you into the feeding frenzy machine.

I'd gone 5 years without listening to/referring to TRs stuff - and found a pretty good way for myself. I was looking for a big boost into ACTION - and that's when I got hooked again.

Thanks, but no thanks, I'll get myself into action on my own.

Thanks again,

Kim

Options: ReplyQuote
Posted by: Cosmophilospher ()
Date: August 16, 2004 01:09PM

You have hit another nail on the head here.

People "blame themselves" for not accomplishing as much as they think they "should", and this self-downing leads to depression, frustration, and even self-loathing.

(Step #2: find your customers pain, and then stir up their pain, and make it worse)
(Step #3: heal them with you products and services)

In my view, to want to get into Action is a good thing.
But from my point of view, we can do it in a healthier way by using ideas from Behavior Therapy, or Cognitive Behavior Therapy.
This way, we can push ourselves at times to get things done that we are Avoiding, but we can forgo shaming ourselves for not being a Superperson.