Current Page: 25 of 115
Re: "Jesus Christians," "Australian cult," Dave McKay (thread 2)
Posted by: zeuszor ()
Date: August 20, 2011 07:49AM

Sorry, I just noticed a big mistake in my above post.

It should have read, "...from a set of unpublished and uncopyrighted notes that were written by a former counselor for the Wellspring Retreat."

They were neither published nor copyrighted. I studied those notes thoroughly when I was in therapy, and then "tweaked" and adapted them in order to apply them to the JC cult.

Also, I did that as well with sections of this interview. I have decided that now is the time to show all of you this. I always planned on doing so, and have decided that the stars are aligned properly tonight.

I doesn't matter if we're talking about a high-school class project or a modestly-successful NRM: the group dynamics, the social-psychological influences and the internal and external mechanisms of control are roughly equivalent from situation to situation. And the comments and experiences are a constant, too.

In other words, I could be reading you the testimony of a former member of the Twelve Tribes cult, but in a certain context and in such a way that if you didn't know any better you'd think that I was reading you the testimony of an ex-Jesus Christian. See what I mean? They're all kind of interchangable like that. Lots of similarities, common experiences.

I'm trying to, and have been trying to, how the commonalities between groups and demonstrate that in a sense none of them are unique. A high-control, abusive group is a high-control, abusive group by any other name. They're all cults.

[www.twelvetribes-ex.com]