Current Page: 3 of 14
Re: Eckhart Tolle "advaita"
Posted by: csp ()
Date: May 01, 2008 12:14AM

I'm not being evasive. I said that I was a mental health professional and that "no" I have not submitted a peer reviewed research paper on Tolle. However (for whatever it is worth) I've published many peer reviewed papers in scientific journals in the field of traumatic brain injury and in particular behavioral medicine.

Again ... you and others in this forum are making very pointed criticisms and claims about Tolle's teachings and specifically about the inherent psychological danger of his methods. The burden is on the accuser. My question (and don't be evasive) is what proof do you have of this danger? How many cases are documented? Has anyone taken legal action against him regarding his teachings and techniques? Until you can provide scientifically valid evidence that his teachings are harmful and/or provide case study examples then the accusations are baseless and invalid.

Options: ReplyQuote
Posted by: rrmoderator ()
Date: May 01, 2008 04:45AM

csp:

"Mental health professional"?

Please be very specific.

You are a clinical psychologist, psychiatrist, forensic psychiatrist?

What specific education, training and professional standing do you have?

Are you saying it is your job is to evaluate clients through examination regarding the psychological damage done by large group awareness training (LGAT) or seminar training through people like Tolle?

"Traumatic brain injury"?

How does that subject specifically relate to evaluating the effects of an LGAT, group or controversial seminar leader like Tolle?

You seem to be misleading people on this thread regarding your specific qualifications to make judgments about Tolle as a professional.

Of course you are free to offer a personal testimonial as a Tolle supporter, but not a professional assessment.

Posted by: Hugh Manatee ()
Date: May 01, 2008 05:07AM

csp