Current Page: 1 of 14
Gurdjieff groups in the SF Bay Area--mid-seventies
Posted by: lyleb ()
Date: December 06, 2003 10:39AM

Interested in contact with any who may have fallen victim to Robert Burton or Alex Horn in the period from 1973-76.

Options: ReplyQuote
Posted by: pitcow ()
Date: December 29, 2003 03:26AM

In 1981 I joined a Gurdjieff group in the California Bay Area. This group was lead by Henry Korman, and had no name. Many of the group members had moved from New York to the Bay Area with Henry in the late 70's. If you are enquiring about other groups such as this one, let me know.

Posted by: lyleb ()
Date: December 29, 2003 10:39AM

Sorry, but I have no knowledge of Korman. I hope that your experience with him was rewarding, and, if not, that you departed quickly.

Sadly, when I experienced this Gurdieff phenomemon in the early to mid-seventies, there wasn't an objective standard available for measuring authenticity, so the default was good old-fashioned "faith," in most cases a very dangerous path.

The psychological "truths" of Gurdieff/Ouspensky are extremely fertile fields, both for those who would explore them, and for those who would exploit them. There is no justification for "faith" in this exploration. If "faith" is demanded then you are on the wrong track--get out as fast as you can!

Date: December 30, 2003 01:45AM

Unfortunately, I stayed in the Korman "Gurdjieff" group for 10 years. I also went to "therapy" with Korman's wife, an unlicensed therapist. When it was over I was kicked out for insufficient devotion; my 'therapist' denounced me to the rest of the members as having no integrity. She had graduated me from therapy 'with honors' a week prior to this.
I went into a year of clinical depression, gained 150 pounds, lost my job and my marriage. That was 1992.
Now I've lost the weight, am friends with my ex, and have a new life. But my spiritual life is dead.