Re: Ole Nydahl and Diamond Way Buddhism
Posted by: SteveLpool ()
Date: July 13, 2012 05:56AM

Hi Jamgon.

Your point about confirmation bias is valid and may well be on display here. But of course this bias works in both ways. It can obscure reason in favour of those who wish to find fault in Nydahl or obscure reason in those who refuse to find fault with Nydahl.

I accept Shamarpa’s letter as genuine but I find it difficult to accept that Shamarpa supports Nydahl in his attacks on Islam, or that he supports Nydahl’s sexual relationships with his students, or that he supports Nydahl’s decision to consume alcohol, tobacco and snuff.

The reason I find this difficult is because I regard Shamarpa as my root lama. I had been meditating with one of Nydahl’s groups for several years but just couldn’t bring myself to accept Nydahl as my root lama. I couldn’t place my trust in him because of his views on black Africa, Islam (although he and I do agree somewhat on radical Islam) and I considered his choosing young female students as sexual partners an abuse of his position. I continued to attend because it was my connection to Shamarpa and Karmapa.

In the end I was told to leave the DWB group, and the centre I was living in, because I wouldn’t accept Nydahl as my root lama. As there were no Bodhi Path centres in the UK I found myself without a connection to those who I considered my teachers.

So to think that I was ostracized from one group because I couldn’t accept the teacher’s behaviour as worthy of my trust and devotion and because I regarded Shamarpa as my teacher instead, to now find that Shamarpa gives his full support to a teacher I mistrust is a huge disappointment.

You can read my accounts of why I am protesting against DWB and Nydahl on this forum. I can promise you that my accounts are 100% factual as I experienced them.