Pages: 123Next
Current Page: 1 of 3
Attending an "Introduction to Landmark"
Posted by: hatotheno ()
Date: October 05, 2007 02:00AM

Hello All!

Thank goodness for this place. You folks are providing a great service.

So heres my situation:

I am a musician. During a conversation with one of my bandmates last year, he tells me that he is subbing out our gig that weekend to attend a Landmark seminar.

I had heard second-hand accounts of Landmark (brief "What a scam!" kind of stuff) so my immediate reaction was to laugh and say "Man, isn't that a cult?" He got really angry and gave some lekkie-speak "unlocking your personal potential" rant. He had not even attended the Forum, yet it seems he was already under the spell.

After participating in the brainwashing...er... Forum, he was riding a wave of euphoria. I admit that I saw some changes in his personality that could be interpreted as positive -- more outspoken, decisive and an inflated sense of self-esteem. However, the perceived benefits eroded quickly into a sense of impending doom.

Last week a long string of events (including phone calls from concerned friends, a ton of missed gigs and various other Landmark inspired chaos) culminates in him calling me up "just to tell me that he thinks I'm a good guy and to see if I would be interested in coming to his house to attend an Introduction meeting".

So, I agreed to go -- Id like to see if an informed and friendly presence might finally stir up some critical thinking.

That brings me here -- to the people have lived this stuff on both sides. Im trying to formulate a plan for disrupting this recruitment drive...Any ideas?

Keep in mind - I still have to gig with this guy so I really dont want to alienate him... i.e. go the route of tough love.

Can anyone tell me what to expect at a typical "Intro to LE"? Do they run it like a mini-Forum?

My thoughts so far are that I should: