Current Page: 8 of 748
Re: Former SGI members
Posted by: jojaroyd ()
Date: February 22, 2009 07:30AM

I am a new member of this forum. I just discovered it today through a google search looking up information on ex-SGI members. I read a lot of the posts and they were very relevant in helping me.

I was unable to read through every post just because of lack of time, so please forgive if my questions are redundant.

I am an SGI member. I have been my whole life - my parents are both members. I recently got higher leadership position as an area leader. I feel very pressured to stay in, but I have been battling with issues regarding this organization for many years; I have seriously thought about quitting for about two years.

I guess I finally decided to about a week ago, but I still have not acted. I told my dad, and he is okay with it. Very supportive actually, and many of the issues I have with SGI that I shared with him he also has. However, I cannot tell my mom. He and I both agree that it is best for her not to know, at least not for now while I am in college and am relying on her for many things. She is crazy fanatical, and neither my father or I can begin to guess the drastic and negative reactions from her if she heard this. I guess this is mostly what is keeping me in. I am organizing a fairly large meeting for next month which she knows of and will be attending. I figured I would quit after that. (She lives in another state than me but will be visiting during that time.)