Pages: 12345Next
Current Page: 1 of 5
Landmark Confusion - seeking support
Posted by: anonday ()
Date: September 02, 2016 02:27PM

Hi, I found this forum today after researching Landmark and cults. I apologize for the length, but I have a lot to say. I'll share my Landmark experience and why I think it's good / bad. I was introduced to the Landmark Forum 4 years ago. Since then, I've considered it the most important weekend of my life, yet I'm struggling to decide whether it's ultimately worth it. I don't have experience with any other LGAT or seminars, and I know very little about cults. However, I am a trained psychologist, and I'm interested in learning about how Landmark psychological helps and hurts. Here is my "story":

4 years ago, a 65 year old PhD friend brought me to a Landmark intro. I had just gotten through a psychiatric stay due to some major life changes, and my friend thought I would gain something from checking out what he had been telling me about for a few years. Regarding my psychiatric stay, I was diagnosed as bipolar-II, however the psychiatrists acknowledged that given my history, symptoms might have manifested due to a drug-related binge. My history actually suggests clinical depression off and on throughout the years. From 18 to 25, I was attending one-on-one therapy, group therapy, and CBT across many therapists, counselors, and environments. I never felt like I gained much from my sessions, even after having spent thousands of dollars.