Cult Parodies
Posted by: Canaderek ()
Date: June 12, 2009 08:16AM

Hi

I'm a journalist who up until recently wrote articles pertaining to science, philosophy and religion. These days, I'm exploring writing with humor and really enjoying it.

I'm producing two weekly blogs, each on an imaginary cult. One, promoted under the pseudonym "Canaderek" is called Elbonism. The other, its rival, is promoted by the "Reverend Neil Pudding". It's called "The Society of Kneeophytes", or "SOK", and is a more direct parody of Scientology.

I'm wondering how people here feel about using comedy as a way of exposing the lunacy and danger of cult involvement.

Here's where they can be found:
[freedomhaters.org]

Harmon Leon produces most of the material on the site. I noticed culteducation.com has posted Harmon's Scientology infiltration story. Another writer posts a blog on Alex Jones' New World Order theories.

Thanks and best wishes,
Derek

P.S: Warning: The Cult parodies include some profanity

Options: ReplyQuote
Re: Cult Parodies
Date: June 14, 2009 12:15AM

After clicking on that link, you need to click "CULTS" from the menu. New articles on these cults are posted every Monday and Friday.

Thanks again,
Derek

Posted by: Christa ()
Date: June 14, 2009 07:43AM

Comedy has been underused in the fight against cults, possibly because people leaving them don't see much to laugh about.

Anonymous has wielded humor very effectively in its fight against Scientology.

Date: June 15, 2009 07:37AM

Thanks for your response, Christa. I've enjoyed watching the Anonymous/Scientology struggle. Silence is definitely not the answer to mind-controlling cults.

Here's a more direct link to my Scientology parody:
SOK: The Society of Kneeophytes

And my more generic cult parody:
Elbonism

Date: June 19, 2009 10:38PM

The latest installment of SOK has been posted. It features the tool of the Kneeophyte: the Eam-eater.

Posted by: Xenucide ()
Date: August 03, 2009 06:28PM