The shame is dissipating
Posted by: Lady Pleiades ()
Date: February 25, 2006 01:26AM

I think I felt a lot of shame for a long time (it's been 5 years) that I could be duped by the cult. Yes, I have a higher degree and a fairly high IQ.

I was a skeptic at first and then tried doing it all and became one of the zombies (as they are called in Winter Park FL where the group exists). I wanted to save my marriage and was willing to do anything.

I left and of course have had no contact with my ex since. But when I received my divorce papers, I knew I had done the right thing and had a real, true sense of self respect. But there was some residual shame as you all know.

But, finally, the shame is lifting.

In defense of the Catholic Church, I went to my annulment counseling with a nun and she was very supportive. She said of the former leader: "What a nut!" She also said about herself that "Others could tell me that I live in a cult, but ultimately it's the effect the group has on people or if it's helpful. And I am free to leave at any time!"

Options: ReplyQuote
The shame is dissipating
Posted by: nccg_concern ()
Date: March 17, 2006 03:42AM

Yeah...

You've probably already heard/read this in other places. Having a high intelligence is simply not one of the things that protects people, in general, from being sucked into a cult. Some have even said that higher intelligence may predispose you to it, depending on your situation (I don't personally have a position on that one though, I haven't known enough cult-affected people during my adult life to feel that I can judge that). An individuals' susceptibility is most certainly affected by personality characteristics, their age, and their immediate life situation at the time of recruitment, but yeah.