Current Page: 2 of 6
Re: Human Awareness Institute - Issues?
Posted by: Bert Clanton ()
Date: August 25, 2009 08:03AM

Hi!

I've been a HAI "intern" (i.e., assistant) for twenty years, plus a few months. I have a perspective on HAI that I think ought to be expressed here. I'm going to do this in two separate postings. The first will talk about the widely recognized characteristics of organizations that are generally considered to be cults, and will cite my own experience of HAI with respect to each of those characteristics. The second will simply share my own experience of HAI, particularly as it relates to complaints about HAI that I've seen here.

But first, what do I mean when I say that I'm a HAI intern? A HAI intern is not an employee of HAI, but is a volunteer who assists the facilitators logistically and otherwise in presenting the workshops. I sincerely hope that HAI is financially successful, but I have no financial interest in the success of HAI, or even in its continued existence.

CHARACTERISTICS ASSOCIATED WITH CULTIC GROUPS

Janfa Lalich, PhD & Michael D. Langone, PhD

* The group displays excessively zealous and unquestioning commitment to its leader and (whether he is alive or dead) regards his belief system, ideology, and practices as the Truth, as law.

Definitely not true of HAI. While Stan Dale was greatly respected as the originator of HAI, he was by no means the object of uncritical adulation. I have myself disagreed with him over the general direction of HAI's policy, in writing, on the HAI interns' mailing list, with no repercussions whatsoever: in fact, some other interns agreed with me, in writing, on the same mailing-list, with no repercussions.