Current Page: 2 of 4
Deprogramming after Landmark
Posted by: Ertras ()
Date: December 16, 2004 09:11AM

Hi all,

I think that this is an excellent thread and there are two specific aspects of it that I would be grateful to discuss further.

1) As Concerned Oz has detailed, the philosophy behind the predominant LGATs is existentialism. Oz, from where did you get the objections to the existentialist account that you detailed in your post? Are these common objections (amongst philosophers) or your own?

This is a big one and at the extreme end of Existentialism. As to the first part, "I give meaning to everything"
* This implies that before you existed, existence had no meaning;
* This implies that everything you do not know about has no meaning or is objectified;
* This implies that when you die, existence reverts back to having no meaning;

Are there any posts or other documents that look in more detail at how existentialist philosophy is used by LGATs like landmark?

I studied Sartre's existentialist philosophy briefly on a 'Practical Ethics' course at University just recently and I was greatly impressed by it, enthused in fact. So it would seem that the conditioning from the LGAT course that I have attended twice is still in effect, but this leads me to my next question:

2) Should I seek to 'undo' or 'remove' *all* programming I received from the LGAT?

There are two strands to this question:

(i) What if some of the ideas / philosophies pushed by LGATs are genuinely useful/ empowering? Existentialist philosophy is popular amongst students and after studying it 'properly' (e.g. academically), I may decide that I accept it and want to use it on a day to day basis, but then if once in the past I had it 'programmed into me', am I ever in a safe or 'objective' position to do this?