Saying NO to EST and Landmark For 25 Years
Posted by: Sylvia ()
Date: July 30, 2004 09:27AM

Hi people!

I have been reading the past posts here for the last few weeks. I found you after an old friend of mine ‘invited’ me to a forum introduction meeting in June. After I said no I did a search on ‘anti Landmark’. There is so much information here, it’s incredible. I had no idea how far the descendants of est had gone, or how many there are. Whew!

I have been saying no to est and Landmark for about 25 years. This same friend did est in the late 1970’s when she moved to California. She came back to town and took me out to lunch to gave me the pitch. I thought she was quite hyper and said no - for the first time.

During the 1990’s four more people I knew did the forum. I went to one ‘graduation’ introduction. I wasn’t impressed. I was approached by several staff people and graduates about whether I was registering. I said no to all of them and when they asked why I said that I had done something similar recently. They weren’t very persistent. Maybe they were new. I did attend an obscure 5-day LGAT in 1989. I’ll tell that story in another thread.

Anyway, the friend I went to the introduction with didn’t bother me about it after that. She moved on to an NLP course.

One of my long distance friends did the Forum and advanced courses. He got to the point where he couldn’t have a conversation with me without spouting jargon and ‘encouraging’ me to attend the Forum. I finally told him that if he couldn’t stop talking about it I would not talk to him anymore. He stopped.