Pages: 12Next
Current Page: 1 of 2
Sterling Institute Weekends
Posted by: jackmingo ()
Date: August 12, 2006 02:31AM

I'm a writer in California looking to interview people who have gone through Sterling Institute weekends, whether your experience was positive or negative. Anonymous responses okay.

Options: ReplyQuote
Posted by: bwmn ()
Date: September 08, 2006 06:29AM

I did the Woman's Weekend in Oct 2000. I really got sucked into the Sterling philosophy hoping that it would please my live-in boyfriend at the time. He did the Men's Weekend and he paid for me to do the WW in Newburg, NY.

I arrived back from the weekend all starry eyed and filled with the conviction that I could keep my boyfriend and that he would marry me even though he told me right after we moved in together that he wouldn't. I joined the Family of Women immediately after the weekend. According to Sterling the only way to have a succesful relationship is to only share my feelings with other women that I trust and under no circumstance discuss my feelings with my partner.

Fast forward...now that it has been six years since I did the weekend I would tell anyone not to do the weekend. He takes little truths and mixes them with lies and the FOW enforces this crazy philosphy.

Unfortunately my boyfriend ended up breaking up with me in 2002 and I moved away. I thought he was such a man of honor because he was in the men's division. He ended up breaking up with me and not telling me why because according to the men you don't discuss your feelings are anything else with your female partner. And right after that he slept with my best friend who was also my "little Sister" and sponsored her in the Women's Weekend. So the FOW had no philosophy about when your man cheats on you except to trust them no matter what. There was nothing honorable about this man and certainly none with my "best friend".