Pages: 12Next
Current Page: 1 of 2
How do they start?
Posted by: smegma ()
Date: June 26, 2003 12:03PM

Hi,

I am a psych student and while doing some research, I came across Rick Ross's wonderful, informative and "scary" site.

After reading through a LOT of articles, I still can't figure out a few things...

Although I understand how groups recruit people, how do the so called gurus start? Take Scientology or Heaven's gate?

So, in short, how does 1 person get so many people to blindly follow him(or her) without a group helping to recruit?

I guess you start small, but how do they get the small group?

Options: ReplyQuote
How do they start?
Posted by: rrmoderator ()
Date: June 26, 2003 03:01PM

Good questions.

See the following links:

[culteducation.com]
[culteducation.com]

You might also want to watch "The Wave" abd "How to be a Cult Leader" at Videos.

See [culteducation.com]

I am working in England right now so it takes time to clear posts and run them through.

Rick Ross

How do they start?
Date: June 27, 2003 02:40AM

Thanks Rick. Again, great resource for students. I've shown the site to my professor, he was full of praises. Oops, validation using authority ;) No really, I mean it, great site!

How do they start?
Posted by: Hope ()
Date: June 27, 2003 10:37AM

How do they start?
Posted by: corboy ()
Date: June 27, 2003 10:12PM

Another case study is Maharishi Mahesh Yogi. His lineage claims are debatable (go to trancenet.org for more info)

MMY marketed his material and marketed it to Western seekers who were already hungry for esoteric eastern wisdom. His first point of recruitment were persons in societies dedicated to the study of Gurdjieff and Ouspensky. And in the late 50s early 60s, nobody knew how to fact check these characters. You can read this in chapters 9 to 14 of an online book by Joyce Collins-Smith entitled Call No Man Master

which can now be purchased on amazon.com