Pages: 12Next
Current Page: 1 of 2
Is LDS a cult or not?
Posted by: Nancy Lopez ()
Date: July 26, 2002 10:45AM

Good Evening:

Forgive me if I make mistakes but I'm new to these kinds of forums. I'm wondering if LDS would be considered a cult or not? I lost my daughter to the LDS a year ago. I've been on a message board and the things I've been hearing have me confused. Is there anyone else out there that has lost a child to LDS and if so, what are you doing to cope? It's very sad and I'm confused. The people I've been corresponding with seem so hateful and I don't want to end up like them. I want my child back but I have no idea how to reach her. She refuses to listen. If there is anyone out there, I would appreciate an answer.

Thanks for your time,

Nan

Options: ReplyQuote
Is LDS a cult or not?
Posted by: rrmoderator ()
Date: August 15, 2002 03:27AM

The LDS might be considered historically a "cult," during the time of Joseph Smith.

See [www.culteducation.com]

But today, more than a hundred years later, they have evolved far beyond their early beginnings, into a much more mainstream organization, which is not defined and/or focused upon one living individual.

There are still serious problems caused by the LDS, most often by zealous missionaries, who may work with minor children without parental notification or consent.

Many families have become stressed directly due to LDS missionary activity and not unlike groups called "cults," the LDS continues to make exclusive claims about itself as an organization.

Is LDS a cult or not?
Posted by: PorterGolden ()
Date: October 25, 2004 03:58AM

I wonder if Nancy still considers her daughter "lost" to Mormonism?

It seems that, when she posted, all she "knew" about the Church was what she found on anti-Mormon websites and what she heard from self-professed "cult experts."

That's like going to the National Organization for Women to ask about the joys of being a homemaker.