Pages: 12Next
Current Page: 1 of 2
AA , the mental health community, and the courts
Posted by: barabara ()
Date: August 17, 2006 04:18PM

(This thread relates to the topic of therapy abuse; if you bear with me it will become apparent)

In recent posts, rrmoderator and easydoesit stated that they were exposed to AA during training and/or during the course of work as professionals.
This has suggested to me a new line of inquiry:

I am curious as to what is being taught these days to trainees in the fields of recovery and mental health about recovery. I have to admit I know almost nothing about this. I am not a therapist, and do not work in the mental health field, although I have some background in psychology; (I studied psychology and bio-psyche at the university level during the 70s and 80s; it was not my major, and I had took no courses related to addiction, other than the physiological aspects of the disorder.)

My knowledge may be hopelessly out of date, although I doubt it from listening to and reading the reports of other recovering addicts and alcoholics.

[b:bccfbc994d]I am addressing these questions to rrmoderator, easydoesit, and anyone else who works in the field of recovery, or whose work involves participation in programs of recovery:[/b:bccfbc994d]

During your training, was information about recovery programs limited to AA, and if so, why do you think this was the case?

If you were exposed to alternative programs to the 12 step programs, were they given a similar emphasis, or was the 12-step model emphasized?

It is important to tell us as well which years you were trained in recovery.

Was it 10 years ago, 20, or recently?

Are you aware of any changes that may have been made in recent years, or if more emphasis on a variety of treatment models is made during mental health and recovery training at the present time?