A man in need
Posted by: Warfrog ()
Date: December 13, 2009 02:25PM

Hello everybody,

As many of you might already know I was abused by a destructive bible-based cult. I was lucky to stumble across Margaret Thaler Singer's book "Cults in our Midst" a few years later. As I studied more about cults and brainwashing I was lead here in my search where I learned that cultic brainwashing tactics are employed by not only by cultic leaders but by abusers in abusive relationships. I bring this up because it has come to my attention that a man my friend knows (who I suspect just came out from a destructive group and/or relationship) is now being preyed upon by my friend's former best friend. Both the man and my friend's former best friend both come from abusive backgrounds. According to my friend her former best friend always seemed a little manipulative but she didn't know the half of it. When the manipulator unwittingly showed her true colors both of then cut off contact from each other, my friend informed me that the manipulator is not only taking advantaged of a weak-minded man going through hard times but she is trying to manipulate her. The behavior my friend described is not dissimilar to that expressed by cult members and cult leaders. The manipulator has managed to isolate this man from everyone and get him to listen ONLY to her. Also when I offered to intervene she said that they wouldn't listen to me and that both would resent me. My friend believes if I intervene the manipulator would turn her subject against me. I detest cultic mind control and brainwashing and I want to pull him out, I could use some advice,preferably from those that have actually intervened before.

-Warfrog

Options: ReplyQuote
Re: A man in need
Posted by: rrmoderator ()
Date: December 13, 2009 10:31PM

See [www.culteducation.com]

This section of the Web site is devoted to the subject of abusive/controlling relationships.

Posted by: dsm ()
Date: December 13, 2009 10:39PM