Would anyone consider LDS abusive?
Posted by: Nancy Lopez ()
Date: July 26, 2002 01:03PM

Hello,

I'm new to this and need information about the LDS. My daughter is involved with them and has been controlled and abused. Can anyone else relate to this?:(

Options: ReplyQuote
Posted by: nativeflower ()
Date: February 14, 2005 05:17PM

I have a friend that was a member of lds...she said she quit because they had negitive oppressive views of women.

I dont know much about them myself

JoAnne

Posted by: wildswan ()
Date: November 29, 2006 04:03AM

My roommate is a member of the LDS church. She converted in college.

I haven't noticed any abuse at all. Her LDS friends are all very healthy, happy people. She has friends outside of the church as well.

The one thing I dislike is that the women MUST wear dresses or skirts to church. What's wrong with dress pants? Grrrr

Posted by: sametanner ()
Date: November 30, 2006 10:03AM

I suppose it depends on what you consider abusive, but I would say "yes", especially where women are concerned. I am a former member of the Mormon church and I can tell you at best, women are considered the subordinate partners of their husbands. Their role in the church is expected to be that of a homemaker and a mother to as many children as she/they can manage to produce.

A woman can advise her husband, but what he says goes. If the husband is verbally or physically abusive, the wife will be counseled to work harder to please her husband and make whatever changes in herself are necessary to stop causing the husband's abuse. That's right! If your husband hits you, it's your fault. If you cannot or don't want children, you will be considered useless. Careerism for women is seriously discouraged, unless you can balance your career with keeping house, raising kids, and pleasing your husband - but even then you'll be considered to be strange.