Former member of International Church of Christ
Posted by: sweetiepie ()
Date: March 01, 2007 05:50AM

Hey everybody this is my first post and I dont know what to write. You see I was apart of the ICOC for 3.5 yrs. I was recruited the second semester of my freshman year. I graduated and it has been about 1.5 sense I left. Things are still very hard. I dont know who to talk to. I really do not know where to start. I think sense I left the ICOC I wanted to deny being in a cult. I wanted to ignore it. but I find that hard to do, because Im different. Vulnerable, afraid, lonely. If anyone can relate or has been through this, give me a holla :wink:

Posted by: abigail1977 ()
Date: March 20, 2007 01:11AM

if youd like to share your experience, please do. I was in a cult for 9 months and it was terrible. A christian cult.

Date: March 23, 2007 04:03AM

Thanx for the reply. It so hard to be honest and open about my experience. Living day to day among people who have never experienced this--- I feel like I wear many mask daily. Im just trying to figure it all out. It is a miracle for me to admit that is was a Christian cult. Althought deep down inside I just dont want it to have been a cult. Im just confused. But anyway if you can keep up, my experiences are some what blurred. I just hate that period of my life so much because, of the now. The insecurity that I feel, the daily confusion--- Ive been around old friends and they tell me who I use to be and I cant believe it. I know that girl exist but she is not here. I got into a relationship with a high school boyfriend. He said you are not the girl that I was in love with in high school. I hated to hear those words--- although I know it is true. I dont know what those people did--- I dont know what values to hold on to which ones to let go. Which are my beliefs, which are thier forced beliefs. Life is hard. I read that I should continue to be patient with myself Im just ready for it to be over.

Posted by: kath ()