recovery from a cult
Posted by: LET31257 ()
Date: June 22, 2003 12:50PM

I left a Christian cult after 15 years of attendance. It's been 4 years now since I left and I'm still learning about how to cope with it all. I was the only one who left the church (a small independent fundemantalist church) although I heard others had left years before I became a member. Immediately after I left (actually I was excommunicated and turned over to the devil) I had panic attacks and couldn't sleep at nights. In the minds of the church, to leave them is to leave God. I was terrified that I actually had turned my back on God. I guess the things which have helped me the most has been the information I've found on web sites. I would describe my church as :
#1) central control around the pastor's wants and desires. He set the tone.
#2) Condemnation of most other churches round about us as compromisers. I think this came from a pridefull/elitest attitude.
#3) rigid/legalistic life style.
#4) manipulation of members (usually this took form or peer pressure).
#5) painful exit process (excommunication and shunning). This is very difficult to bear.

I have found that I must think for myself and not doing so plus a passive nature made me easy pickings for an authoritative minister. Life now is an exciting and new experience and at the same time loaded with anger and resentment. It's great to out of the "fishbowl" and to see life from a different perspective, but dealing with the feelings of being emotionally abused and used is difficult. I invested much of my time and money (tithes) into the church only to have them all scorn me for leaving. I thought they were my friends only to find out the friendship is conditional on maintaing a good relationship with the church. Throughout all of this I'd have to say that time does heal.

Larry

Options: ReplyQuote
recovery from a cult
Posted by: Hope ()
Date: June 23, 2003 11:18PM

Larry,