Re: Soka Gakkai International -- SGI
Posted by: cyclops ()
Date: November 16, 2010 07:22AM

Findingmywaytoday FOR SURE – All I can say is that the opening of my eyes was when the Youth Div. was being force feed that Ikeda was their mentor or better their (MASTER) – This programming was so not Buddhist practice but Ikedaism. Now on to other important matters – On chanting – I have been chanting for 30+ years and still do because it gives me a focus on my life condition it works for me I chanted prior to joining SGI and still chant – On the Gohonzon - it’s a focal point for you to use to help you elevate your life condition – Now you can use it for that purpose fine, I practice for years without one and did quite nicely. If you feel uncomfortable with the Gohonzon then I would say please for your own sake remove it! Chanting you may try and focus on your life condition and nothing more – If this works for you then you may want to keep chanting – All I can say is it works for me! Please take care and I wish you all the best in your journey to enlightenment. : )

Options: ReplyQuote
Posted by: backnforth ()
Date: November 16, 2010 11:24AM

Findingmyway today:

I will echo Cyclops just a little bit. I've chanted since 1984, never missed a day. Only in the last 3 years or so I've realized that the SGI is far removed from what Nichiren intended and most of their activities are unrelated to a Buddhist practice and geared to grow the organization and gain revenue.

I'm not sure how much you might have studied the Lotus Sutra, the Gosho or other writings on your own. I recommend you do that 'as you're finding your way' and see if you really need to remove chanting from your life. You say it helped your motivation. Over time, you might be able to find peace about the SGI - for me, I realize, on the one hand, the members helped me find this teaching, on the other hand, I have grown beyond it and it seems quite elementary now.