Pages: 12Next
Current Page: 1 of 2
Forgive my ignorance
Posted by: dsidechick ()
Date: July 31, 2007 07:29AM

I am currently in my third year of university and have posed the question of why people become so involved in cults and seem so easily swayed by their leaders, however preposterous their preachings and claims seem to those outside of the movement? I have given myself a few possibilities to consider, those being dissillusionment with mainstream religious movements, some form of brain washing or a possible addictive personality either of the members or those who are recruiting and leading the movements? If you have any other suggestions or possible answers i would be extremely grateful to hear them and discuss them.
I post this question with the sincerest apoligies for my ignorance and the possibility that this question has already been asked and answered many times on this board. I would also like to add that this question is not meant as an insult to those who have been involved in a cult or who know someone who is currently involved.

Thank you in anticipation

Options: ReplyQuote
Forgive my ignorance
Posted by: rrmoderator ()
Date: July 31, 2007 09:12AM

Forgive my ignorance
Posted by: The Shadow ()
Date: August 15, 2007 03:33AM

thank you rrmoderator,

I appreciate your continued vigilance in this matter.

I am determined to "rescue" or attempt to rescue my friend from the clutches of Landmark/EST, before she does the course in October.

[sometimes I get so angry I just want to go down to the office and throw a brick through the window, but of course, I know that won't help and will probably get me put in jail or worse]...

...I am trying to find books on deprogramming as I am determined to do whatever I can to "win" my friend back.....