Current Page: 1 of 10
Subud
Posted by: Jupiter ()
Date: July 24, 2007 06:15PM

I just wondered if there are any ex-members of Subud out there. I've had some really messed up experiences but have nobody to talk to about it. Most of the time I just feel like it must be all in my own head, and I feel totally invalidated.

Options: ReplyQuote
Subud
Posted by: corboy ()
Date: July 24, 2007 09:42PM

Dear Jupiter: Ive never done this practice but there is a fascinating
description of it in this book entitled

'Call No Man Master' by Joyce Colin-Smith

[www.amazon.com]

Joyce Collin-Smith was a practitioner of Subud in its very earliest days when Pak Subud brought it to the United Kingdom--forty years ago.

Colin-Smith saw quite a number of things both about Pak himself, his wife, and the effects of the practice that were quite troubling to her. She was middle aged, and was troubled to see herself and other sober persons becoming emotionally volatile as a result of the practice.

Sadly, she later ended up in a situation even more damaging for her than Subud. But this early account may fill in some gaps for you and be validating.

There is one thing in Joyce Colin-Smiths account that she does not mention but that jumped out at me--that people took Pak's word for it, that he had been given credentials to teach.

It never occurred to anyone to check and see if Pak was actually telling his Western devotees an honest and accurate account of his background and qualificatoins.

These kinds of esoteric practices are usually kept private. I personally wondered if Pak S. left Indonesia either to seek his fortune, or because he'd gotten into some sort of trouble at home and needed to go someplace else to make a fresh start.