confusing situation w. man involved in "mens division&q
Posted by: need2know ()
Date: April 23, 2005 11:29PM

First off,
I am a litigation lawyer trained in critical thinking. This all seems to go out the window in the relationship department. lol. after divorce, and playing the field alot, I met, what I thought, was a solid, kind, intelligent man with whom I could actually have something with.
Good job, devoted to hs kids, etc. He told me he was in a mens group, and I tried to find out info, and only when i inquired further and he siad "Sterling' did I manage to find this website. This freaked me out and I asked about it and printed some of the commentary. He wouldnt read it and said that he was not that involved, that he didnt recruit ppl for the weekend events, but just met with other men to shere things, since men rarely had friends.

I thought I may have over-reacted. He remained attentive, we had fun togheter, he bought flowers and cute gifts, very thoughtful. Then, our time together seemed to be dictated by his fitting it in between meetings, phone calls, and othe things in his life. I do not understand all these meetings and phone calls. He is very secretive about them, and says it helps him with his life after failed relationships, etc.

When I expressed a concern, he said his life was just set up this way. He is some type of leader and works these "womens weekends". He has never asked me to go however.

Am I crazy for being involved with this man? Am I in denial about what the group stands for? (men are "hinters", women "gatherers".) I am as far removed from that notion as possible. He seems drawn to me, maybe to "conquer'???

Any suggestions? We are both in our 40's, strong ppl, athletic, independent, etc. I dont know whether to bail?

Thanks for any insight from other folks!

Options: ReplyQuote
Posted by: Cosmophilospher ()
Date: April 24, 2005 01:53AM

I suggest you read up on this Sterling group.
[www.culteducation.com]