Looking for Landmark grads to interview
Posted by: kelkay1 ()
Date: August 28, 2004 07:58AM

Hello,
I am a grad student of anthropology at CSUN looking to interview people who have gone through (or are about to go through) the Landmark Forum. I am studying the self-improvement process as a cultural experience and reflection of individualism in American society. This is an independent study, not affiliated with LEC or any other organization.

Please email me if interested and I will send you more info.
Thanks!
Kelly

Options: ReplyQuote
Posted by: Concerned Oz ()
Date: August 28, 2004 11:03AM

kelkay1,

There needs to be more studies like this done.

Interviewing people prior to going into Landmark, is like interviewing people prior to injecting themselves with heroin.

This is a serious issue. People are not guineapigs.

Oz

Posted by: Acid Reindeer ()
Date: August 28, 2004 11:04AM

contact the local LEC center and they'll hook you up even if that portion of your sample will tend to have a lot of bias towards the experience.

Posted by: kelkay1 ()
Date: August 29, 2004 02:31AM

This is not an experimental project. The research is based on hearing what grads have to say about their own experiences, good or bad, and discussing that dialogue.

I have contacted LEC about helping me find volunteers (or observe at the seminars) - if they would permit me to find volunteers at the Introductions, but they will not. they put my proposal on file, and I have gotten the runaround as opposed to just a "no" answer, unless of course I go through the program myself.

I am looking for as many different perspectives as possible.

Date: August 29, 2004 08:02AM

you can read a thread of alt.fan.landmark entitled "Psychological studies" which links to some web pages of two papers along those lines.