Current Page: 2 of 4
Re: Kids and Landmark?
Posted by: Sulalee ()
Date: May 19, 2008 11:21AM

Hi mom1313. The thing to know about kids is that they are pretty resilient and, even though they probably will deny it, the thing they want most is to feel secure in their connection with their parents, families, and friends. You have every right to make a decision to take your kids out of LM and to keep them away from it. Your story reads like a classic case of LM trying to draw a whole family in by bringing the kids in first. It is evil and insidious and should not be tolerated.

LM leaders or mentors are not trained to work with children or teenagers, let alone adults. I am a psychologist and I mostly treat young adults and adults. I would never presume to treat an age group I'm not practiced in treating. It would not be ethical. I could get sued and lose my license. Yet, LM, because it sells itself as an un-therapy, isn't held to any ethical or professional standards. When pressed, they'll say, "What we're selling is a product."

In cases when you are feeling ambivalent, the best course to choose is the most parsimonious... Choose what you know in your gut rather than what some outside voice is telling you. Don't let LM rob you of your critical thinking or of your family's well-being.

Options: ReplyQuote
Posted by: Lekkie ()
Date: May 19, 2008 04:02PM

mom1313
I hear you. I watched the video.
1. Why - if I felt ok to take my child back there - did I also feel the need to come to an anti-cult website and post about it?

Good question. I had the same "need" before I did the Landmark Forum (for adults). And yet I did it anyway, regardless of what I saw here. I suspect the reason you came here and posted is the same reason that took you - not your child - into the Forum. You wanted answers. I wanted answers as to why my boss was an asshole (right before he fired me).

mom1313