My friend, Landmark, and me
Posted by: zerohour ()
Date: October 03, 2003 07:52AM

Well, this is my story with Landmark.

Not too long ago (measured in months rather than years), my best friend, who I also have a business relationship with, told me she had discovered this great course. She's always been into things like that, and me, well... I'm about the last person you'd give a self-help book to.

She's known me for years, and used to call me "the Black Hole" for that reason. But she still gave me the whole spiel. I think I'm a pretty observant guy, and what struck me the most was that she was trying (and failing) to describe a feeling, like love or hate, rather than an experience, like a seminar. (I worked in sales for a number of years, so I could pick that up pretty quickly.)

I asked - and I knew nothing about Landmark at the time, or I would have recognized this as a specific technique rather than a personal failing - what exactly was done there. No, I don't mean an overview: when you go there, what do you DO? Do you sit? Stand? What do you talk about? She admitted she couldn't really explain it. I'd just have to go and see for myself.

I happen to have several pursuits outside of work that I follow: I simply wasn't going to throw away a day on "seeing for myself" when someone who had spent the greater part of 72 consecutive hours couldn't simply explain what she had been doing during that time.

That was my first clue: when the best selling point is "try it yourself," you're being sold an illusion. If a three card monty bothered to explain what he was doing beforehand, he wouldn't find a single sucker.