Pages: 123Next
Current Page: 1 of 3
friend went to Landmark Forum meeting. Should I worry?
Posted by: Bird ()
Date: May 24, 2006 03:22PM

Hi
I'm new here. My best friend asked me if I had ever heard of this thing called the Landmark Forum. I had not. A coworker of hers went to a meeting and said it was "life altering" etc and suggested that my friend attend. I visited the LF website and wrote back to her with my thoughts; it looked like a bunch of hokey crap, something akin to Franklin Covey repackaged for the new millenium. But if she thinks it will help her, then fine, I'm all for it.

Fast foward a month to last weekend when I get and email from her immediately after attending the forum. She's raving about it and how it's already changed her life for the better.

This woman is levelheaded, successful, very highly educated, has a wonderful family, but is in somewhat of a low point with her career. I was surprised that she would be so taken with this meeting. Being a scientist, I am skeptical of just about everything and I immediately smelled a rat. I did some research and came across this website, among other information about the LF including its history, mission - well, let's just say I read about everything I could find on the internet.

Should I be concerned about my friend? Is there potential that she will truly benefit from this "class"? Is there any valuable information? Certainly they're not asking anyone to drink Kool-Aid or antyhing like that, it just sounds like a big extortion racket to me but is it dangerous? I think she is too intelligent to be swayed by the bad points of this and I am hopeful that as she distances herself in time from the event, its effects will diminish and she will be left with whatever benefitted her from the meeting. Am I being naiive or overly concerned? Should I worry? I hate to doubt her or insult her intelligence and integrity by questioning her involvement, but I've read so many horror stories about this thing.