american(dash)pictures(dot)com
Posted by: brushknee ()
Date: September 03, 2020 05:10AM

Hello Network,

Newbie here. I have a question about Holdt's site american(dash)pictures(dot)com I needed to ask cult awareness authorities.

I read with great interest the article published here on this website

"Group influence and the psychology of cultism within Re-evaluation Counselling: a critique"

[culteducation.com]

about the RC movement. From a prior relationship I used to own all their books but threw them all in the trash one day a couple decades ago after reading of the abuses. And it is a so-called successful squirrel group of scientology (like a communist version of scientology). I never participated in meetings or joined the organization.

So my question is, is Holdt's site and apparent life's work of no value at all?

The site is all infused with pretty much 100 proof RC theory and language. I don't know about counseling practices, since I haven't run across that demonstrated on the site.

Holdt apparently needed strength to get through this self-chosen journey, on the one hand he is clergy, so he has that, but then he apparently also used RC to get through what I imagine would be his "patterns of fear/discomfort" etc.

Now is it all bunk? The pictures seem powerful to me, but is this really a case of appropriation if it is all dressed up in RC theory?

I don't want to point anyone to it if that's the case. I have a feeling it is appropriation. The film and workshop is shown to privileged (white) kids at expensive colleges, but I don't see any actual outcomes from something like that. The underclass is still with us.