Pages: 123Next
Current Page: 1 of 3
International Coach Federation
Posted by: bakkagirl ()
Date: May 07, 2018 02:45PM

Dear Members,

I am a senior executive coach who is researching the history and current practices of the International Coach Federation.

The ICF has, mysteriously, become the de facto certification body in the field of coaching, though many psychologists and coach practitioners have expressed extreme concern about its positioning and its practices.

My research has thus far indicated that the ICF was founded by individuals closely associated with est and Landmark, Landmark Education, Forum. It would seem that many early materials published by the ICF, or its founders were simply recycled from Landmark. Also, coach training has now come to encompass 'group awareness' activities that have had very negative consequences for some participants in my environment, Asia (Japan, China).

The ICF is often accused of using revival tent tactics to enlist new members, and then enrolling these members in rounds of training and mentoring. The quality of coaches being produced is not very high, and this is damaging the field, and the credibility of the discipline.

I believe the ICF may still be involved with Landmark. There are a shady cast of characters, celebrity coaches involved in this picture, and many have Landmark ties.

If anyone in this forum has had experience with the ICF, or information they would like to share, it would be much appreciated.

Bakkagirl

Options: ReplyQuote
Re: International Coach Federation
Posted by: not moses ()
Date: May 10, 2018 07:03AM

I'll post here what I did over on reddit: