ISO other survivors of the Sterling Institute of Relationship
Posted by: sunflower8 ()
Date: November 03, 2015 12:34AM

In the early 90's I took Justin's Sterling's Women's Weekend and was lured into joining the Family of Women, which I became heavily involved in for three years. Thankfully I managed to get out when I saw that they were demanding more and more of my time, energy, and resources. I was the head of enrollment in NY for a short time, and they told me that if I left that position my life would fall apart and I would never have a "successful relationship" with a man.

Thankfully, I had the fortitude to leave when I awakened to the fact that my financial security was on shaky ground because all of my time was going to FOW activities. Essentially I was working for Justin without getting paid for it. I needed to devote time and energy to the new business I was starting.

I'm just learning now through the Cult Education website that I was involved in a cult. What a relief it is to have so much validation reading the experiences of other people. To help my healing process, I would like to connect with other people who were able to get out of this cult.

Options: ReplyQuote
Re: ISO other survivors of the Sterling Institute of Relationship
Posted by: corboy ()
Date: November 03, 2015 01:38AM

Welcome to the message board community.

Congratulations on heeding your self care instincts and getting out when you did.

One thing what will be helpful is learning both how LGATS (Large Group Awareness Training Seminars) work.

Recruitment. I learned some new and valuable things about recruitment from
reading Cults Inside Out: How People Get In and Can Get Out.

[www.google.com]

(This book has 5 star reviews and 1 star reviews -- indicating that it is well worth reading!)

Often, a trusted friend or family member who is high and happy after a seminar will be set up to serve, without realizing it, as an "agent of deployment" -- aka recruiter.