Current Page: 6 of 8
Re: New Frontiers International
Posted by: kayjay12000 ()
Date: April 20, 2011 08:38PM

Hi to all,
I was a member of a NewFrontiers church for the best part of 20+ years.
Perhaps before saying anything further I should state that the final result of my time there has been a virtual total loss of faith: I would not claim to be a Christian. I still read the bible, pray from time to time, but for me, the almost deliberate and total waste of the best years of my life has just been too much.
Let me also say that without doubt some of the kindest and most generous people I have ever come across were in that church, I have no problem with the rank and file membership whatsoever. My story is this:
I became christian in the mid seventies, within a few years became both evangelist and youth leader at a South London Baptist church. Also during this time I worked as a volunteer with London City Mission. I preached at church, in the street, at the speakers area at the Tower of London and at work. All of this was voluntary.
I became unemployed in the late '70's but finally found a job in the county of Kent.
For a whole variety of reasons this did not work out at all. However I said to Gos that If I could see just one conversion I would take that as reason to start a church in the small village where I lived. Within a few monthswe had around 25 people meeting in my living room every sunday, we launched missions to local towns and generally were I think particularly succseful in reaching youth in the local area.
Now, to cut a long story short, we joined with another group who were just about to be planted into a local town by "Coastlands" -as was- NewFrontiers as is.
Right from the very start it was made clear that the leader of this church would not even discuss anything I had done previously. I was also told clearly that because I was unemployed {clearly an unforgiveable sin} I should not do any street evangelism.