Pages: 12Next
Current Page: 1 of 2
Monastery abuse - RC and Orthodox
Posted by: JohnPW ()
Date: January 30, 2004 06:00AM

This is my first post here so I will start slowly. I am not sure if this is the correct area. So, I will not mention the particular Monastery at this time.

I wish to collect additional information and verify my own experiences. In other words, I wish to prove that I am not crazy...

Has anybody experienced Monastic ritual abuse, brainwashing, sexual abuse in any Roman Catholic / Byzantine or Orthodox Monastery?

Last year I went on a spiritual Retreat at a new Monastery only to discover that it is more of Cult Setting. I have been Traumatized by the experience. I have over 20 years experience in my own church and have a Masters in Theology... Nothing prepared me for this. I still am not able to comprehend that an Abbot of a Monstery would try to get me to commit suicide!!!

- God was never mentioned.
- No Scripture reading (except during the liturgical services)
- No Rules were written but you had to follow them
- Brain washing
- Sleep deprivation
- lying
- I ask for a towel and they give me three (Hmmm, Holy Trinity?)
- telling you what you want to hear
- attempted to have me donate my car
- The Abbot was always right
- No sense of time
- Young Monks were very weak and controlled
- Everyone was called "Father" even though they were not ordained
- Mass marketing techniques...
- not allowed to talk to local people
- They used a scene from the Movie "AI"
- The Abbot suggested (brainwashing) that I commit suicide
- I am not allowed to come back...
- Others of my Church or Priests have never been there...
- They have a vow of poverty yet he drives a $55,000 truck
and so on...

I discoverd later that this same Abbot and his partner were part of a public scandal at our California Monastery.... where the former Abbot went insane and there was a major sex scandal. Officials from Rome had to fly in and had to take care of the situation.