Columbia Bible College and Northview Community Church
Posted by: Nick Garai 2 ()
Date: July 26, 2022 06:51AM

I was attending Northview Community Church and Columbia Bible College in the 1990’s. I experienced both Pastor Dave Currie and Pastor Vern Heidebrecht. Both of these institutions are Mennonite institutions.

-I first met Dave Currie after a Roaring 20’s event. I was a third year student at Columbia Bible College. I approached Dave Currie and told him he was a very effective communicator. I looked me over a made a disgusted look at me then said “Yeah, thanks”

-When I was in a balcony at the back of Northview Community Church, I stood next to Jenilee Doerksen. Dave Currie came up to check up on me. He waited until I left the balcony then left the balcony himself.

-When I tried to speak with him after a Roaring 20’s event I would walk behind him and call out his name. He would continue walking away from me. I kept calling out to him and he didn’t stop to see what I wanted.

-in my fifth year at Columbia Bible College, I met with the president Walter Unger to discuss getting a job as a youth pastor at a Mennonite Church. He told me that I had a history smog sexual perversion, social deviancy and participating in the occult. He told me that I should be honest with the churches I contact and tell them because I could be disqualified for ministry if they could do it. I sent a resume to South Abbotsford Community Church and Northview Community Church. South Abbotsford Community Church did not respond. Dave Currie wasn’t interested but said if any of it was true he would take action against me

-During a Youth Ministries class at Columbia Bible College, Dave Currie asked me a question. I was staring out the window and didn’t hear him. I turned to him and apologized. He said he was sorry too. I don’t know why he had to be rude. I was a student. He was rude to me more than once. I don’t know why he made me feel so uncomfortable in his class.