From Bob Thieme to Atheism
Posted by: vau0807 ()
Date: December 29, 2011 03:37PM

I've read through much of the existing thread on Bob Thieme and Berachah, most of which deals with theological disagreements and cult behavior explored from the perspective of born-again christians. I'd like to offer a different perspective, if I may.

I studied and took notes on nearly 2,000 tapes, including the 1969 Basics, Protocol Plan of God, Faith Rest, and the first several hundred Spiritual Dynamics. I read RBT's books on Christian Integrity, Revelations, etc. In those years, I anticipated that his inevitable death would be as painful as the death of a family member. I walked away in 2004 when I finally accepted how elitist, self-absorbed, and deeply arrogant Thieme himself behaved. In 2009, I read Joe Wall's dissertation and C.G. Hunt's thorough repudiation of Thieme's personal history. Since then, I have become an atheist.

Bob Thieme's strong leadership talents and courage were wasted on christianity. Even worse, RBTjr relished his role as the condescending disciplinarian who called his congregation "stupid", "spiritual losers", and "arrogant", while embellishing his modest background. The Berachah Battalion has all the characteristics of a cult of personality. And after all the chest-pounding about dropping behind the pulpit, he went out with a whimper instead of a bang, ravaged by Alzheimer's. Thieme took all the ignorance, logical fallacies, and nonsensical supernatural appeals of orthodox christianity, crafted a unique vocabulary, and sold his braying dogmatism as the voice of god while playing a deft verbal game of "it's not me, it's God the Holy Spirit". He portrayed himself as a suffering servant of a god who, let's be honest, is worthy neither of love nor respect.