Current Page: 1 of 10
Messianic Churches
Posted by: Sugarberry24 ()
Date: June 28, 2005 10:45PM

Hi. I'm a newbie to all this and am doing some research on cults, specifically Messianic churches. Does anyone know if they're considered a cult? Are they dangerous? I know they believe in Jesus, but that's about it. I've never had a good feeling about them. Thanks.

Options: ReplyQuote
Messianic Churches
Posted by: rrmoderator ()
Date: June 28, 2005 11:02PM

Such groups are controversial regarding their claim to be "Jewish."

But other than that they seem to be pretty typical evangelical and fundamentalist churches, which essentially fall within the parameters of Baptist or Pentecostal theology.

See [www.culteducation.com]

They can be devisive in certain situations and have generated significant complaints over the years.

Messianic Churches
Posted by: Raina ()
Date: August 14, 2005 02:14PM

Just to answer from one point of view --
I am Messianic, attending a shul in Washington State. While the leader who started our shul is Jewish, as are many others, we are not all Jewish, and non-Jewish members are welcome. We do not attempt to "convert" people to be Jews.

The founder of the shul attended and taught in Baptist seminaries, and some of what is taught at the shul follows Calvinist-Baptist doctrine. We embrace the Bible as a whole, without division, and portions are read every Sabbath from several areas of the Bible.

We are liturgical. Much of our liturgy is in Hebrew, but for new-comers, the English translation is also printed in our siddurs. Much of our music is also in Hebrew. Those attending are offered biblical-Hebrew language classes, and this year, we have been offered a beginning modern Hebrew language class.