Loss of Intellect..?
Posted by: Tiredofthis ()
Date: December 05, 2010 02:44PM

Maybe a bit of a risque topic/iffy topic but does anyone feel that the New Age material while catering to giving you the "peace" and the high that makes you feel good inadvertedly comprises one's intellect or intelligence? I mean in terms of the ability to critically analyze, discern patterns, absorb/comprehend information, focus and stuff like that.. And i'm talking about material like ET's "The Power of Now" and other relevant literature. I'm a university student and I found that to, maybe, be the case and i want to get others' opinions about this.

Options: ReplyQuote
Re: Loss of Intellect..?
Posted by: Crescent ()
Date: December 05, 2010 11:05PM

I think 'The Power of Now' was a pretty good read which offered me a new perspective on things: how we, as human beings, label everything, but often (when taking time off) are not present in a way that enables us to truly enjoy beautiful and simple things, like nature, without over-analyzing them. But, the more i progressed in the book, the more i got the impression it was just too radical for me, and too much of some kind of deep, dark abyss. I didn't believe 'living in the now' and not using your critical thinking facilities would somehow magically improve the world and myself, so i didn't finish reading the book. I read through it again at a later time, but again i didn't finish it. The different perspective this book offered was refreshing, and i'll remember these things, but i don't need to hear or read anything else from people like Eckhart Tolle.