Current Page: 9 of 197
Re: Ole Nydahl and Diamond Way Buddhism
Posted by: sam108 ()
Date: October 27, 2008 06:20PM

corboy
For someone who has just recently found this thread, sam108 shows a suspiciously high degree of rhetorical sophistication. There are precedents for groups coaching members to show up and provide an oppressive atmosphere on a thread.
I can see how you've formed this impression of me, but I don't think it's mostly due to Diamond Way. I used to be in the high school debating team, and I have a Bachelor of Arts in Philosophy, so I suppose I'm reasonably proficient at defending ideas in a rational manner. I think, the main contribution to this which Diamond Way has given me, is the emphasis on compassion, which implies for me trying to emphasize with alternative viewpoints, rather than condemning those who hold them. I think, demonstrating compassion towards those who disagree with us, is a fruitful way of changing their perspectives; whereas, I think, condemning people for their views, neither changes their view, nor does anything to help anyone.

I do sincerely hope my personal contribution to this thread has not been providing an "oppressive atmosphere". From my own perspective, I have been trying to share my own viewpoint in a courteous and respectful manner.