Pages: Previous1234
Current Page: 4 of 4
Re: Gurdjieff
Posted by: Printer ()
Date: August 11, 2008 01:07AM

I have been reading with interest various comments posted by "corboy" about so-called "Fourth Way" groups and practitioners.

I have been participating in the Gurdjieff Work for nearly 30 years. I was schooled in the groups of two of Gurdjieff's direct pupils, Willem Nyland and Louise March (who I worked closely with from 1982 until her death in 1987); have had extensive contact with various leaders of the Gurdjieff Foundation; have been trained in the Movements, sittings, exercises and practical work activities that are part of this tradition; and I work to some extent today with new people interested in the Gurdjieff ideas. The experience has been healthy and balanced for me and my family. While I do harbor a few personal misgivings about the Gurdjieff Foundation for specific reasons outside the scope of this forum, my overall outlook remains very positive.

However I have been long aware of unhealthy, unsavory spin-offs (Horn, Gans, Burton, Gold and others) who are in what I call the "avoid at all costs" category. This comes through a few direct encounters; and many times over the years, colleagues in groups around the U.S. have referred me to postings and information on this forum. I've read a great deal and believe this venue provides an invaluable service.

It seems to me that as more material is cascaded on the internet, the name "Gurdjieff" is taken broadly to encompass and represent all strains, healthy or unhealthy, pure or grossly distorted.