Krishna group in Hawaii
Posted by: shanti ()
Date: June 17, 2007 11:56AM

"I didn't know that. Was even Katyani not allowed in the boys club? "

Katyani was before, & above, the boys club.
She was "in" from the beginning...again, a special disciple.

I have to add: from my own personal interactions with her,
she was a very humble & loving person.
I am not trying to defend her...
I'm just telling you how I perceived her.

It does not mean she's not involved, or leading, some kind
of Krsna cult thing of her own now...
that, I can not answer for, as I have no first hand knowledge of it.

But no, women were not well accepted in general...
the idea was (as a woman) for you to become a
devoted wife of a male disciple...help your husband...
help him serve Krsna & the spiritual master, period.
Not many women held their own independantly as disciples...
they were most always married off.

"As far as questions of whether a wife should be submissive to the husband : Yes, a wife should be submissive to the husband if the husband is submissive to the spiritual master"

"However, a wife should not be overly critical if her husband is trying his best to chant the names of Krishna and carry out the activities given to him by the spiritual master. The wife should not sit there, always making judgements on the husband, thinking herself superior in all ways, otherwise the husband will not feel very peaceful around her. "

"Sometimes in the Vedic civilisation it is accepted that the husband may be physically dominant over the wife in the sense of being a little bit physical."

"Anyway, the point is that as long as a person is in the material world and they are still a little covered by materialistic consciousness, we have to appreciate that a man, generally, has the tendency to be the dominator and the woman has the tendency to be dominated."

March 4, 1989... from, gee duh...Chris.
To the Board of Directors & Japa das, P.I.

Thanks Cara for that one on your site!

[chriskcon.com]