Pages: 123Next
Current Page: 1 of 3
New Boyfriend/Course of Miracles? Or Nonsense? Brainwashing?
Posted by: IdahoKat ()
Date: July 04, 2007 04:57AM

Hi all,

A question: In your opinon, should I pursue a relationship with a man who I have worked with for 6months and have dated for about a month?

He is handsome, articulate, creative and kind. However, since dating him, I have found that he has been involved with a group of people who teach "A Course of Miracles". I believe he became involved with them via a co-worker/housemate after a difficult divorce about 1 year ago. It was only when we spent time with his friends (who seem to invite themselves along to lots of our dates) that I noticed the new age talk/blank look in the eyes.

Full disclosure: I am Catholic; he was raised Catholic. We have some similar background tho I am a professional with advanced degress, who is also an artist part-time and he is an artist from a well-respected university art program.

When we are alone and talk about art, the past, specific topics and the like, he seems entirely normal. But, then, sometimes, he does speak new age nonsense (at least it makes no logical sense to me ) and I get concerned. So, far I have just asked questions and expressed that there may be helpful kernals , i.e., positive thinking, in many areas/religions even if you don't share the whole belief system.

My take on "Course of Miracles" is that it is a course of nonsense, at best, and a course in brainwashing, at worst. My take on him is that he met this group at a vulnerable time and is under their (doubtful) direction/influence. He's great, with this large asterisk.

I really like this guy, have a lot of chemistry, but should I just cut it off before I get too attached?

Your thoughts are much appreciated. BR, Idaho

Options: ReplyQuote
Posted by: rrmoderator ()
Date: July 04, 2007 05:06AM

There is one group in Wisconsin that is supposedly based upon ACIM that has a troubled history.