Artists Cults?
Posted by: emaline ()
Date: January 16, 2006 04:41PM

I am a artist who has been involved with activities more than once that now seem cult-like.

This has involved several committees that do not appear to be connected to each other, but as soon as you get involved with any of them, you are expected to be involved with all of them.

Artists get shows and appear to be making money, but the people behind the show actually keep the money.

The first few times I ran into this, it seemed like it was just common white-collar crime and I refused to stay with it. But I was already considered a recruit into one of these committees. An aquaintance had invited me out of an interest in showing my work and when I told her that I really just preferred to work in an art-related job at that time and was not ready to show, what followed was strongly like having rejected a cult.

These people were pulling anyone they could into the role of artist, and I had professional training and tried to explain to my friend that they really knew nothing about the art world but they were behaving like common criminals.

If I tell you what happened after that, it will look like any other cult-exit story: the stalking, the interference, the threats.

When I moved to a distant city, I found a job in a print shop and started to plan to get on my feet again. But when I was staying with another artist's family, his wife who was not an artist started gushing over how much this group she knew of could help me. I recognized the pattern and though it was just another bunch of these crooks and I noticed the husband was not very happy with the conversation but was not saying anything and I tried to persuade her that I really had too much to do than to meet anyone else.

I had not identified what happened to me before that with cult behavior, and I thought it was something wrong with me that her kind offer seemed so eerily like what I had been through that I was feeling panic attack.