Re: Byron Katie (the Work) and Eckhart Tolle Legit??
Posted by: quackdave ()
Date: July 10, 2009 11:51PM

Stoic:

Like HM2x, I am hyper-vigilant, reactionary, angry (serves me for now) and relatively new to freedom from the tyranny discussed in this thread. It has been easy to pre-judge new posts to this thread when they veer, even minutely, from the main criticisms; that, of course, is my bad. I'm still learning every day. Actually, this thread has evolved to the point where the initial question of legitimacy of Katie and Tolle has long since been addressed. This accounts for 'skimmers' of this thread to come off as apologists. Not to say that I have seen apologetics in your posts; I haven't.

Personally, after reading this thread, I had actually jettisoned all my non-dual, Advaita, Katie-esque, Dyer-like, Tolle-type, TM-practicing, evangelical religious-based ideas (to name a handful) out the fricking window, before I even posted. Against the advice of at least one person on this thread, who I still respect as a contributor, I took a chance on throwing the baby out with the bathwater. Actually, I was the baby, so I didn't worry at all. I stayed put, threw out the stanky water and rinsed off, as I continue to do. This was my technique, and although perhaps not for everyone I have recently posted on another thread that complete stoppage is a preferred technique in recovery circles. I see the application as being equivocal. I do, however, think I understand what you did to escape/recover, and see where the incongruencies in your posts seem to have stemmed from.