Why do people join cults?
Posted by: f0rTyLeGz ()
Date: April 08, 2003 05:45AM

Why do people join cults? What do the believers get out of it?

As a young man, I came of age in 1960, and spent the next ten years in college. A hippie, dodging the draft, and wandering through various cults. I studied English, philosophy and art. I was a seeker of the truth. I was at Millbrook with Timothy Leary. I was with a Gurdjieff cult. Arica. Scientology. My mother was a Christian Scientist her whole life, and I went to Sunday School for a decade. I did EST. And I hung around the Siddha Yoga cult at South Fallsburg for a couple of years. And AA. AA is a cult too. And I did a lot of "counseling," and marriage counseling, and "therapy." I ended up with the Tao te Ching.

I ended up believing that the reason some people get caught up in cults is that they have low self esteem. But I have a somewhat different definition for self esteem. I believe that self esteem is a feeling, an emotion. High self esteem is a feeling that you know what is going on here. Plenty of people know what is going on in their particular little sphere, but they feel totally out of it with regards to their relationships with other people, and their place in the world. You can't tell a person that they should feel cozy in the world, but it is easy to make a person feel cozy, at home, one of the family. All cults provide this feeling for their devotees. Plus, you get the promise of the love and paradise that the guru is the living example of. You get to share the power if you do your tasks well, with devotion.